MALAWIAN SOLDIER FIRED OVER FACEBOOK COMMENT


A Malawian soldier at Cobbe Barracks, about 70km north of Blantyre, has been fired from the army for posting a political comment on Facebook.

Acting chief of staff and Malawi defence force spokesman Brigadier Clement Namangale told the Sunday Times that the soldier, Oti Chilumpha, was fired last week after posting on facebook that he “supports” the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP).

Chilumpha: dismissed

Namangale said, “all men in uniform know that we are not involved in party politics…they are taught this from day one. What he did was a gross misconduct of army discipline and rules,” he told the newspaper, adding, “it’s true that this person was relieved of his duties.”

Namangale said a number of soldiers had been fired previously for “breaching the rule of party politics in the military.”

Malawi’s 10 000 -strong army has remained clear of politics since independence from Britain in 1964.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Article writing is also a excitement, if you know
    after that you can write if not it is complex to write.

  • Hi I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Google for
    something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a
    all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the
    minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the great work.

  • Very good post! We will be linking to this particularly great article on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

  • I think that is among the most important info for me. And i
    am glad studying your article. But want to commentary on few basic issues, The web
    site style is perfect, the articles is in reality
    great : D. Excellent process, cheers

  • crosscountyfuel.us  On 08/10/2014 at 08:35

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about
    this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

